Uncategorized

Volcano makin’ fun! 

Hello & welcome! 

I know this blog post is so totally out of my usual “home-decor” element, but we had so much fun making our volcano I wanted to share it with you! ❤️ 

We’ve been on a “Land Before Time” kick and my 3 year old has an obsession with Volcanos now. 🌋 

First you sculpt your volcano with an empty pop can & clay.

  
I bought the big-Ole tub of clay from @walmart in the crafting isle. There’s recipes online on how to make your own but I decided to take the easy route. 

  
Start from the bottom and work your way up! 

  
I used one of our oversized cookie sheets covered in foil for easy clean up. Highly recommend this! All I had to do was roll up the volcano after we erupted it a few times and tossed it! 

  
I went a little higher above the can to cover the hole. Didn’t want my little critters to know this wasn’t a “real” volcano. 😂

  
Once completed I got out my paint stash and got it all set up for my daughter to paint after nap. 

  
Recommendation: paint when clay is still wet to give it the “I’m a real volcano” look. 😚

  

Once completed, let it dry for a day or so before erupting. 

  
We only waited a day being our kids were soooo excited to see the lava! 

What you’ll need: 

  • Dish soap 
  • Red food coloring 
  • Baking soda 
  • Vinegar 

First prepare some vinegar in a bowl and add in some red food coloring. Next add in a tablespoon or so of dish soap. 

I promise you can’t mess this up! You could easily not measure anything and it’ll still erupt! The kids loved it so much that my husband was randomly pouring vinegar and baking soda into the volcano’s hole. It erupted just fine! 

Next you add in the baking soda. This can easily be poured in but I wrapped it in toilet paper like we did in school years ago and plopped it into my volcano!   

A little slower eruption when you use toilet paper. 

Then my friends! You watch the magic happen! 

      

  
Now go make a volcano and have fun!

– ashley 😘❤️

 

Leave a Reply

