Tray decor

What’s a Vignette?! 

Ok… Let’s face it. Unless you’re an interior designer or have been a home decor enthusiast for quite a while, you’re probably wondering, “what the juice is a vignette?!” And may or may not pronounce it correctly. 

The definition: 

“In the world of interior design, a vignette is a small, pleasing picture formed by grouping several objects — think of it as a pocket-size table arrangement that tells a story about you and your home.”

My definition: 

“A group of all the pretty things” 

When I first started my Instagram account back in November, I had to be THE WORST at vignettes. Seriously half the time when I would try and create one for a hashtag challenge I felt like a 1 year old trying to build a block tower that would continuously crash down until I would tantrum on the floor for about 5 minutes. Ha! 😜

Seriously though… I’d spend an entire nap session trying to get it down. 

I’ve sense cleaned up my page and deleted my old horrifying vignettes. {you’re welcome friends!}

That being said, I’ve come a long way and it’s impossible to not step into a home decor store without picturing how I’m going to group things together to create the best vignette there ever was. 😜

But that’s not exactly what this blog post is about. 

I’m going to share with you a few different ways to style one tray and how to create a sense of balance when you group your pretty things! 

Here’s my new summer tray picked up from RossDressForLess for $6.99! SCORE!


I think it was love at first sight. Plus the price tag was a treat too! 

Since bringing this gorgeous tray home it has been moved around my home more times than my vacuum cleaner!  (Yeah I need to get on that.) 

Here’s what I grab first before starting my vignette: 

  1. Some floral. Fresh or faux
  2. A candle (I’m obsessed with Antique Candle Works which can be purchased here: Antique candle) not only are they hand poured delicious soy candles but they’re also poured into cute mason jars and other antique tins/jars. They’re just so adorable to decorate around!
  3. An old book or two!

These are my TOP grabs. And look good in any season. 

One thing I try and accomplish is an uneven number of items within my vignette. For some reason it just looks good for things to be grouped together in groups of 3 or 5. Groups of 2 or 4 just look cray. Well mine do any way. 

For instance here’s a fun kitchen vignette I created using my vintage scale. 

You see there’s  1, 2, 3! And some apples… I felt that had I added a fourth it would have looked cluttered and would in turn take away from the softness of this particular vignette. That sweet little pear can be found here: Rustique Nest they have so many cute items that work perfectly in any vignette. 

Next I created a fun & summery outdoor vignette: 

During the spring/summer months I really enjoy adding fruit into my decor! Makes everything fresh and bright. Not that it lasts long being we are fruit monsters in this house! 

One thing I love about this tray from Ross is the cute wrapped handles. Decor eye candy, yet very function in situations like this. It’s seriously THE perfect summery tray. 

Next: 


You CAN play around with multiple candles! I loved the look of candle layering in this particular vignette. It’s as if my Antique Candle Works blue ball candle took center stage amongst my basic white candles behind it. I really felt that by adding multiple candles it really added a sense of warmth. 

SIDE NOTE: I have a special cabinet in my kitchen dedicated to faux floral. 😌

Next: 

Who says vignettes have to take place in the kitchen or living spaces? I feel bathrooms deserve all the love also. 


See there, friends? 1,2,3,4,5. It’s just something about that odd number I’m telling you! 😅 

Don’t be afraid to tuck things closely together! 

Ok. [promise we’re almost done] Now let’s talk about balance. I feel it is important to keep not just colores balanced but also the balancing of decor pieces. I love, love, love using Deep trays. Although not everything is tall enough!

My secret vignette weapon… 

COASTERS! 👇🏼 


I use these babies to prop up candles, birdies (see multiple candle vignette) and sometimes even floral! It is important that I achieve the right balance. Don’t be afraid to play around with the height if you have this type of tray. I’ve even used small pieces of wood that some of the builders had left behind. (Don’t ask why I kept it in the first place). 

So there ya have it: it’s all about balance in color, balance in height, groups of 3-5 and purchasing a delicious candle that smells and looks amazing! 

Now go get busy creating some fun vignettes. 

Enjoy! 

Find @AshleysDecorSpace_ on Instagram. 

3 thoughts on “What’s a Vignette?! 

  1. Thanks so much for that explanation. I was a little puzzled about vignettes. Not anymore:)
    I loved all your examples. I really loved the white metal basket.
    How do I sign up for your blog? I think I would love reading it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

